Significant Songs (123)

beetleypete

Joy And Pain

Sometime late in 1980, I heard a song on late night radio. As often used to happen, I was grabbed by the sound immediately, and set off to find out about the band performing it the next day. Luckily, I had heard the name Frankie Beverly, and my trusty record shop man was able to find me the album (vinyl) that it came from. The group was called ‘Maze’, and Frankie was the lead singer. I bought it, and soon became addicted to the soulful sounds and mellow vocals, as well as the funkier tracks.

More research led me to discover that there were two previous releases, and I ordered those soon after. Within weeks, I was listening to little else, and began an appreciation of the sound of Maze that lasted for more than ten years.

They started out as Raw Soul, and were soon noticed…

View original post 90 more words

One thought on “Significant Songs (123)

Leave a Reply

